Loading...

History

History

Our funeral home has a unique history and committed relationship working within the community. We invite you to explore our legacy.

In the fall of 1850, Lafayette W. Billups, a cabinetmaker from Matthews County, opened the L.W. Billups Funeral Home on E. Main Street in what was the center of commerce in Richmond, now known as Shockoe.

 

 
 

 

In the spring of 1917, Lafayette’s son Charles built the current location of Billups on the corner of 25th and Marshall Streets, moving his home that occupied that corner to 424 N. 25th Street, where it still stands today.

In 1933, Charles doubled the size of the building.  The addition had all the new conveniences; Billups was the first Funeral Home in Richmond to be fully air-conditioned. 

Billups Funeral Home is still owned and operated by the Billups family, and with the honest and compassionate staff, still carries on the tradition of unexcelled service at moderate expense.

Billups Funeral Home | (804) 643-7444
2500 E Marshall Street, Richmond, VA 23223-7135


© Billups Funeral Home
Website Design By Frazer Consultants & TA